Technical Divisions

ASES Technical Divisions bring together members with similar interests in order to exchange information. Membership in ASES Divisions is a benefit of ASES Professional and Organizational membership.

Divisions Chair: Brian Allen

Division Activities Include

  • Publishing newsletters
  • Organizing webinars
  • Conducting an annual meeting of their members in conjunction with the National Solar Conference
  • Providing technical expertise to Conference Technical Review Committees, the development of Find Solar estimator modules, and ASES Policy Statements and White Papers
  • Keeping members informed of the latest developments in their area(s) of interest through their individual websites

Current ASES Divisions

Solar Electric Division

Chair: Marlene Brown
Includes direct energy conversion of the sun’s rays to electricity including photovoltaic (PV) energy technology, concentrating photovoltaic (CPV), and photovoltaic thermal technology (PV/T) that captures heat off the back side of PV cooling them thus making more electricity.

Solar Buildings Division

Chair: David Panich
Passive solar heating and cooling, daylighting, Building Integrated Photovoltaics (BIPV), site design, building design tools and case studies.

Sustainability Division

Chair: Brian Allen
Promotes the development, exchange, and use of information on the multiple environmental and societal benefits of renewable energy combined with energy efficiency and conservation.

Solar Thermal Division

Chair: Ron Gehl
Concerned with methods and processes which utilize solar flux for heat driven applications. Includes solar ponds, desalination of water, agricultural drying, process heat for industry, photo-enhanced processes (hazardous waste treatment), high temperature solar enhanced processes (water decomposition to form hydrogen), materials processing (high tensile strength fiber production by chemical vapor deposition), solar pumped laser, district heating and cooling, and solar cookers.

Sustainable Transportation Division

Chair: Lucas Dixon
Plug-in vehicles (PHEV and EV), vehicle to grid (V2G) infrastructure, energy efficient community design, renewable hydrogen and biofuels.

Resource Applications Division

Chair: Jan Kleissl
The development, acquisition, and forecasting of solar radiation resources and dissemination to the end user.

Clean Energy and Water Division

Chair: Veera Gude
Promotes the use of clean, renewable energy for supplying clean water for drinking, agriculture, and other beneficial uses. The Division supports stated ASES goals: providing sound technical and scientific information to interested persons on the use and development of renewable energy.

Small Wind Division

Chair: Karin Sinclair
The Small Wind Division advances and promotes small wind, also referred to as “distributed wind turbines” (DWT), as key to global energy sustainability and promotes the development, exchange, and utilization of information on DWT, encourages research and education in the field, and promotes widespread development and use of renewable energy, with an emphasis on residential-scale applications.

Concentrating Solar Power Division

Chair: Alison Mason
Supports the deployment of concentrating solar power systems for utility-scale solar electric power. These are systems which use concentrated sunlight to create and store solar thermal energy for the purpose of driving a heat engine to produce electric power during times of peak utility demand.

Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on Twitter0Share on LinkedIn0Pin on Pinterest0Email this to someone